Award categories

There are 22 categories to enter and win, plus the Academic Excellence in Hydrogen Research and Innovation award and a final award for Outstanding Achievement, decided by the judges from all the category winners.

Eleven categories look at excellence and innovation in the use of hydrogen across industry sectors, including sector specific research and development projects:

A. Automotive (from motorcycles, through cars, pickup trucks and vans)

B. Automotive (all types of heavy trucks for haulage of goods, and buses and coaches)

C. Aviation and Aerospace

D. Rail (including locomotives, trams and other rail systems)

E. Marine and Maritime

F. Large Project and System Solutions (including utilities and on- and off-grid applications)

G. Domestic

H. Industrial (including petrochemical, textiles, glass and metallurgy)

I. Electronics

J. Medical (including pharmaceutical)

K. Construction, mining and agriculture

The nine categories looking for innovation and excellence in the production, storage and distribution of hydrogen, have now increased to eleven, including effective finance and investment and policy empowerment:

L. Production

M. Storage, Distribution and Dispensing

N. Installation, Service and Maintenance

O. Effective Finance and Investment

P. Health, Safety and Risk

Q. Measurement and Monitoring

R. Marketing and Communication

S. Policy Empowerment

T. Research Initiatives (these could be between companies, or companies and academic institutions, or companies and Government, or even between nations)

U. Recruitment, Training and Development (including colleges for 16-18 year olds who are working with government grants to teach engineering specific to H2 to promote employment)

V. Legal, Financial, Professional and Consultancy Services

Academic Excellence in Hydrogen Research and Innovation

Sponsored by HyDEX

This award, which is sponsored by the Energy Research Accelerator’s HyDEX hydrogen development programme, recognises outstanding research and innovation in hydrogen. Entries are for ERA partner universities (Aston, Birmingham, Cranfield, Keele, Leicester, Loughborough, Nottingham and Warwick) and the British Geological Survey. If you (or your research team) have developed an exciting new technology or breakthrough as a result of your research, or if you have partnered with business to apply your research to launch a new product or process, then you are eligible to enter this award. 

The entry form for this award – and ONLY this award – is here.

For further details, or if you have any questions, please email

Outstanding Achievement Gold Award

Outstanding achievement of the year cannot be entered as the winner is chosen by the judges from all the other category winners.

For more help on how to enter please visit the How to enter and Useful advice pages of this website.

Closing date for entries: September 30 2023


Time is always precious and sometimes writing an entry submission is one of those jobs put off until the last moment. For a helping hand to write your awards entries contact:

Please note that Boost Awards is a completely independent company that specialises in preparing Awards’ submissions. There is no financial relationship between the Hydrogen Awards and Boost Awards. The advice you receive from Boost is confidential.


Exclusive media partner

Supporting partners

Downbload the 2023 Winners Book